HMS Black Swan WIP Part 3 – Make Room! Make Room!

Thought I make this part about making staterooms, that way I cover a few techniques I use when making my deckplans. The basic Traveller stateroom is a 2×3 rectangle, each stateroom is 4 tons or 8 squares, the missing 1 ton (2 squares) is used for things like common rooms etc. You could make the rooms any size or shape, even combining rooms to make larger staterooms, just for this I’ll stick to the usual 2×3 one.

As I’ve said the walls are 1.0m thick, I use the offset tool and tap in 1 into the box in the lower right to get the correct size, or you can add a new guideline with the tape measure tool. As you can see I’ve shown that I draw the walls over or within the grid. Bit tricky to explain, but I usually use the one on the far right and erase the parts of the wall that will over lap with ajoining rooms. Of course they maybe no room and just a corridor. Ultimately you have to look at where the rooms are in the ship, so you know which wall to make smaller ie make some wall 1.0m and some 0.05 (so when the ajoining room is next to it it makes a 1.0m wall) I hope that makes some sense… just do it and see what I mean!

This this part shows the first version of the stateroom, if you put the room next to another rooms is makes a 2.0 m thich wall, not saying you don’t have to do that. Where I have cut the door, is just my choice here, It can be any where, in fact if you angle one corner you can put a door too.

I usually use this style, I thin the walls where I think they need to be thin (avoiding the 2.0 thick wall) The Bunk and chair are objects I have drawn and grouped (right click > add group) so I can move them around or whatever. Don’t feel restricted by drawing straight lines, use the arc tool to create things like loungers, sofas or curved desks.(Making those chairs and bunks – components is a good idea)

Finally right click and create group. You can create a component out of this stateroom and name it as such, this means that if you copy that component, any change to it will effect all copies of it, very handy. I’ve usually gone for the group option. Just my preference… You can tell any copy to be unique though (this is the bit of Sketchup I should really use more often)

Heres the fun part, with the move tool (4 arrows in a cross) selected, clicked control so a + appears on the pointer/move tool then move the stateroom, you can snap it to an axis with the shift key or not. Usually I click the point where the grid lines intersect so the copy will be in the correct place. Copy to your delight, as you see above I have creates a second line of rooms (grab and select then move) you then flip them on the direction they have gone (ie green) to create a corridor ! (another feature you get if you right click the selection)

Hey presto! More rooms that you could possibly shake a stick at!  I hope this makes sense…well I’m off for a nice bowl of soylent green….

Leave a Reply

