Building The Clarke Part 1

I’ve been asked, how to make a 3D model from a plan. One way I do it is to create a cross section, them push/pull and scale. The method below I am starting with a ‘lathed’ section of the nose.

As you may know I build my maps in Sketchup then tweak them in AI.  Below is the map of the Clarke and a silhouette of the deck. I use the silhouette to help build the model.

Don’t really need the guides (those are 1.5m squares) so hide them for now.

Next, I figure the nose is a good section to start with, so I want to ‘lathe’ it from the white silhouette. Then from that I can scale and loft it. I’ve chopped of the nose section then draw a circle in front of it and 90 degress to it, this is the path of the lathing. Use the follow me tool to do it. Also to get the circle in the correct place, draw a line from the centre of the nose section out and them put the circle there. It is worth changing the segments of the circle to 40 so it is smooth. Right click the circle edge, select entitiy info, change segments to something like say 44 or 30.

Make sure you keep a cope of where that part of the nose section came from, as you will go back and use it as your ‘guide’

 

 

Leave a Reply

