Traveller Map: Lambda Septa

8 responses

  1. Robert Eaglestone

    What do you use to build these? I’ve used LunarCell by Flaming Pear to create the composite world and its corresponding flat projection, then Paint Shop Pro to layer it underneath the map grid. But your results still look prettier, and your map grid is cleaner.

    August 25, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    • Ian

      Hi Robert,
      Cosmic Pack III generates the world (I’ve kind of figured that I’d have to generate the world and do the UWP next) It creates a flat texture (though with layers)
      You have quite a bit of power over what it does. So you can make some fine worlds.
      Have to use a plugin called flexify (photoshop) to get the right projection, its not perfect but I just tweak and remove any lines, then I can fiddle with it ie add new features…Then overlay the grid map.

      The world globe is Cosmic pack again, ie create world..

      The

      August 25, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  2. Derek Stanley

    That looks amazing, how much control do you have over what Cosmic Pack is putting out? I mean could you go to say an old map of BC4 and reproduce that or is it just what the machine sort of spits out?
    Could you take what the machine’s spit out and say, “Hmmm, that’s cool but what this place needs is a big crater over here that’s really obvious from orbit.”
    I’m curious because, I found terrain incredibly hard to figure out on the ice and desert worlds but here it’s much easier to see where the mountains are and so forth.

    August 25, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    • Ian

      I can tweak each layers size, ie how much feature there is ? (theres a main layer, mountains, water I think) suppose I can add a 3rd layer…? I’m still tweaking it.

      I have fiddled with some of the coasts and added a small island or two, pretty sure I can add a crater ! That’d be cool.

      Thanks !

      August 26, 2012 at 2:32 pm

  3. Robert Eaglestone

    I would love to have grids of that quality for Traveller5, which takes a cue from an old JTAS article by the Keiths and sets a world’s triangle base, in hexes, to be the world size. So there’s a Size 8 map, Size 7 map, Size 6 map, etc etc.

    September 4, 2012 at 12:29 am

    • Ian

      Well when T5 is out, or about to be you know where to find me.
      I’ve have a look for this article. I’ve the collected version about.

      September 4, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  4. Craig A. Glesner

    Hey, Ian Traveller5 is out now! :p Just stopping by and checking out the work. Lovely world by the way.

    January 13, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    • Ian

      Thanks Craig, aye I got a copy in Summer !

      January 13, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Leave a comment